An open letter to History

Dear History

I’m not too fond of you

You have oppressed my people

You have their blood all over your hands

You have repeated yourself

I don’t like you at all

It is because of you that we are in our current positions

You have been strategic in the continuous oppression of my people

Of forcing them to constantly have to prove themselves

Having to prove that they are worthy

That they deserve to be here

I don’t respect you, history

How can I respect you when you have made my people a footnote in the struggle?

How can I respect you when their wounds are still visible?

Where your memory is forever imprinted in their minds

How do I let go of you , when you have made yourself Home in my life?

Where you never come and go but simply remain there, always lurking

Always waiting to reoccur

How do I continue living my life knowing that you will never go away?

 

From Someone who will never accept you

 

Leave a Reply

