I am taking myself back

I have taken back the corners of my smile

My imperfect and crooked teeth

I am taking back my hair that hasn’t grown for years

hair[1]

My dry scalp and split ends

My big forehead

forehead[1]

My dry and oily skin

And the small rash on my left cheek

rash[1]

My flat nose

nose[1]

I am taking back my flat and narrow eyes

The bags under them

eyes[1]

The colour of my skin

I am taking back my small breasts

The slipped disc in my spine

The scars on my back

back[1]

The acid burn on my hip

My flabby stomach

The contour lines and maps in the forms of my stretch marks

All of my cellulite

I am taking back my thick thighs that rub against each other

My stump legslegs[1]

My dislocated knee

knees[1]

My big calves

My small and fat feet

My cracked heels

heels[1]

I am taking back all the imperfections you were too weak to carry

This is to everyone who has ever spat their words out at me before tasting them first

I have taken myself back

From eyes blind to my beauty

From ears that bled from my chiseled words

From noses that could not grasp the depth of my scent

From mouths that could not carry my identity

From shoulders too narrow to carry my weight

From arms unable to lift my spirits

From fingers broken and unable to mould me

From stomachs that couldn’t stomach my greatness

From legs unable to keep me grounded

From feet never willing to walk in my shoes

 I have taken myself back

Feature image taken by Farrel de La Rosa

Images taken by Bantse Padi

2 thoughts on “I am taking myself back

Leave a Reply

