I don’t want to be Loved

I’m a hopeless romantic

Who has always believed that love is enough

But due to recent discoveries, love doesn’t seem to be enough

I’d rather not be loved at all.

What I have noticed is that the moment you’re able to get a glimpse of love

When you can smell its scent

When it starts ringing gently in your ear

When you taste it in your mouth

Or when it gently touches your skin

When you’re so close that you can inhale it

In those moments, it will be ripped away from you

I don’t want to be loved if it can be ripped away from me.

If it comes with unnecessary complications

See, my love is too raw to have thrown back in my face

My love is too unconditional to have thrown back in my face

If ever you decide you want to love me

Tell me first, so we can avoid possible heartache

If ever you think of looking in my direction for my love

Turn your head the other way

My love is something I won’t water down, for you

My love is too poetic for you

My love is too Monday Morning blues for you to be able to throw back into my face

I made the mistake of loving too hard, too soon

And had it thrown back in my face

So if there’s any doubt in your mind

Then save us both and don’t love me at all

I want a love so strong that you will trip on my beauty

A love that will deal with my intensity

A love that can handle my complaining

A love that can accept a strong and ambitious woman

Your love needs to keep up with me

Don’t love me if your love is going to be seasonal

Don’t love me if you will censor me

Don’t love me if you will attempt to control me

See, I will allow you to be the captain of this ship but I will not allow you steer my life

Do not love me if you aren’t intellectually and emotionally compatible with me.

Do not love me

Do not allow me to fall for you if you have no intention of catching me

I don’t want to be loved

Leave a Reply

