No one has the right to

No one ever has the right to put their hands on me without my consent

No one has the right to touch me if they have no intention of making me Home

And even then, my consent still matters

No one has the right to make me feel powerless

To make me feel like I have no control over my life, my body, my surroundings, my safety

No one has the right to mock what I have been through

To make insensitive jokes and comments about people’s lived experiences

No one has the right to dismiss people’s lived experiences

Stop dismissing people when they tell you about their lived experiences

Stop dismissing people when they tell you they don’t feel safe

Stop dismissing people when they say they have lost the one thing they thought they always had ; Autonomy over their own body.

Stop dismissing people when you have no knowledge of what they have gone through

Of the courage it takes for them to wake up each morning , already prepared to argue or fight with ignorant people

Of the strength it takes to bite one’s tongue out of fear that you will be attacked by the people you wish to correct

Of the fear that everyone they pass, could potentially hurt them

Of their willingness to still want to live in a world that attempts to put them to sleep every single day of their existence

Stop, just stop.

 

Leave a Reply

