Friendship

Last night I found myself slipping

Slipping away from who I was, who I portrayed myself to be

I became vulnerable beyond measure

I became my own worst enemy

And my friends were there to pick me up, literally

My friends wiped my tears

They carried me

Picked me up

They lifted my spirits

They saw a side of me

A side of me I didn’t want them to see

A side of me I didn’t want to see

They allowed me to be myself

This friendship has become more of a family

Demi[1]
Photo by Demi Buzo of herself. She has taught me how important it is to be a strong-willed person and to stand ones’s ground
Umi[1]
Photo by Uminathi Dlamini of herself. She embodies what it means to be concerned about the well-being of the ones she loves
Thulani[1]
Photo by Thulani Maphasa of himself. He always shows up for his friends, irrespective. He is always there when you need him.
Ncami[1]
Photo by Ncamisile Mbhele of herself. She has taught and continues to teach me how important it is to be strong for yourself and for those around you constantly.
Hlatse[1]
Photo by Katlego Makhura of Mahlatse Moloto, she is one of the most generous people I have ever met and she is generous not because she expects anything in return but because that is her nature.
Nomps[1]
Photo by Nompilo Ngubane of herself. She embodies what it means to be consistent in friendships, she has never given me any reason to doubt our friendship.
Aphiwe[1]
Photo of Aphiwe Nzuza of herself. She is one of the most selfless people I have met, she ensures that you know and feel loved whenever you are in her presence.
Bantse[1]
Photo by Bantse Padi of herself. She is one of the most understanding people I know. She gives of herself selflessly and is always willing to lend an ear or hand when you need it.
Feature image taken by Simone dos Santos

Leave a Reply

