An open Poem To my Unborn Children, to the revolutionaries

I lived through a time where the colour of our skin was violent

Where we were shot at, pepper-sprayed, tear-gassed and arrested

All because we wanted free education

My hope is that you will never blame the colour of your skin for their inhumanity

450338526-marcus-garvey-black-skin

I pray that you will never know what it feels like to dodge a bullet or to run for your life

I pray that you will never know what the extra uses of milk, water and condoms are

I pray that your eyes will never have to witness the victimization of Black bodies

Where you won’t constantly have to send messages to loved ones asking about their safety

Where you won’t have to look over your shoulders

That you will never be ambushed by the police

I pray that by the time you are born

That you will be sheltered from all of this

That you will know that you are worthy

And that whiteness is not a standard

I want you to know that you are a fighter

That you are revolutionary

There has to be something of me in you

I can say this prayer daily

rosary
Image taken by Charissa Cassels of a Catholic Rosary that symbolizes prayer 

And I can warn you about this world

But one thing is certain

You were not born to be mediocre

You were not born to let people walk all over you

You were not born to be idle when injustices occur

I can only do so much

But know that I will never give up on you

My scars might not heal

But you will breathe and you will breathe peacefully

In Azania, your land, You will breathe my child, you will breath.

Feature image taken by Nedia Cassels of Charissa Cassels

Leave a Reply

